Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
PHOTOVIEW: HTC Touch HD Windows Mobile Professional Smartphone
Posted by Arne Hess - on Monday, 22.09.08 - 00:00:47 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 57093x
Tagged under: [] [] [] [] []

Last week, HTC officially announced the HTC Touch HD, HTC's new flagship smartphone and thanks to O2 Germany, which will exclusively launch the Touch HD in Germany, over the weekend I had some quality time with an early marketing sample. The HTC Touch HD features HTC TouchFLO 3D which runs on Microsoft Windows Mobile 6.1 Professional and it's powered by a Qualcomm MSM7201a CPU at 528 MHz which is said to support quadband GSM/GPRS/EDGE as well as dualband UMTS/HSDPA/HSUPA at 900/2100 MHz. Furthermore, WiFi 802.11 b/g, Bluetooth 2.0+EDR, GPS/AGPS and an FM radio are on board.

The large 3.8" touchscreen features a WVGA (480 x 800 WVGA) screen resolution and on the back, the smartphone sports a 5.0 megapixel camera with auto focus but without a photo-light while the second front facing camera supports VGA. The HTC Touch HD is backed up by 512 MB ROM and 288 MB RAM which can be expanded via microSD memory cards (SDHC capable). At a size of 115 x 62.8 x 12 mm the device weights 146.4 gram.

Quite unique and interesting for a Windows Mobile Professional device is the fact that the HTC Touch HD isn't featuring a D-Pad anymore but it's used through the touchscreen only, in addition to the 4 function buttons bellow the screen:








Please note that I don't have the device anymore but returned it. Nevertheless, feel free to ask your questions in the comments bellow.

Cheers ~ Arne


 

Related Articles PHOTOVIEW:

Comments
Posted by keith on 22.09.08 - 01:09:04

How does the TouchHD actually feel in the hand, compared to the Diamond or perhaps even an Omnia? Is it vastly different or just a little larger?

Posted by Sven21 on 22.09.08 - 03:40:13

How's the display under direct sunlight? iPhone-like or as bad as Omnia/Diamond?

Posted by Thomas Xenakis on 22.09.08 - 06:32:06

Thanks for the preview. Two questions:

1. Does it have TV-out?
2. Does it feature hardware accelerated graphics (smooth videos, games, etc)?

Thanks

Posted by xperia x1 on 22.09.08 - 09:07:03

Hm.. this is interesting, but I am still waiting on the xperia x1.  I do have to admit that the keyboard is nicer since it isnt qwerty, but the rest of the xperia x1 hardware just packs a better punch then what the HTC has to offer.

Posted by KaHo on 22.09.08 - 11:27:46

What i really want to know is wether the touch HD had haptic feedback just like the omnia.
Could you verify this?

Posted by fat guy dancing on 22.09.08 - 11:33:37

1. "Does it have TV-out?"

- Yes.

Posted by Lee on 22.09.08 - 11:56:52

Good that O2 Germany are picking it up...is it going to re-branded as an XDA-(Something) - I would assume so.

Any idea if O2 UK will be picking it up as well?

Posted by Pakothug on 22.09.08 - 12:42:37

Does it have Flash Lite 3 for watching videos on the web

Posted by Brevi on 22.09.08 - 13:37:46

Does it have a LED to signal missed calls/sms/email etc.? It looks like it has a LED on the side of the speaker opening, but then again the Diamond also has this as a light sensor and has the LEDs in the D-Pad. If there are no LEDs, how does the Touch HD signal missed calls etc. in standby?

Posted by me on 22.09.08 - 16:32:03

is it going to re-branded as an XDA-(Something) - I would assume so.

No, it'll be release under the HTC branding, at least in germany. First time for o2. I'd assume that in the future they'll do so more and more often and someday always. HTC is growing and wants to get public attention for their PDAs.

Posted by mikepang on 22.09.08 - 16:54:59

Can you tell me how can I use it without D-PAD? I think it will be not convenience.

Posted by Legen on 22.09.08 - 18:36:48

Hello
my questions is to do with fully touch screen phones like this 1 in general.
since the phone has no d-pad, how do you play games? do on-screen controls
of some sort appear wen a game is launched?
might nt be all that important to most people bt games r a good way to pass
time for me

Posted by mik on 22.09.08 - 19:23:49

I have a Treo 700wx with Windows Mobile 5. I’m curious to know if the HTC Touch HD with Windows Mobile 6 has improved the functionality much. For instance, can you surf the internet while talking on the phone? Does the audio/video player (probably Windows Media Player) save your location in a song or video for the next time you play it (on mine it doesn’t, it just restarts at the beginning)? Does the HTC Pro have picture text messages? Can you listen to stereo audio (songs, etc.) through the bluetooth headset? Is the operating system more stable (Treo/WinMob 5 crashes constantly)? Can you watch streaming video off the internet?

This phone sounds pretty cool and I like my Sprint plan. I’m just a litle sour on Windows Mobile after the 700wx and would like to know that things are much better now. Or is the iPhone just far superior? I’ll probably be looking to get a new phone in late December (maybe the HTC Touch HD will be in the U.S. by then).

Thanks in advance for all your thoughts.

Posted by Walter on 22.09.08 - 19:39:01

Hi, do you know if O2 Germany will offer the HTC Touch HD also without any O2 software branding? I like the standard 3D Touch Flow software in black much more than the blue one installed on O2 devices. Do you also know if O2 Germany will sell the HTC Touch HD together with a navigation software? If yes, do you know which one? Route 66, TomTom or any other?
Thx in advance

Posted by Rimo on 22.09.08 - 21:23:24

Hi, did you have a chance to try out the phone functionality ? How is the voice quality compared to maybe an Omnia ?

Thanks in advance!

Social Sharing
     
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.