Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
EXCLUSIVE PREVIEW: The PPCW.Net i-Mate Smartphone2 aka HTC Voyager
Posted by Arne Hess - on Tuesday, 04.11.03 - 15:39:08 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 7726x
Not Tagged

You already get it from the title-line what this article is about... ;-) Today the parcel service rang my bell and I got a "small" package which includes...? Right the PPCW.Net i-Mate Smartphone2 better known as "HTC Voyager" or Orange SPV E200. :p
Please excuse me that I won't give you a full featured review now - to excited to have the new Smartphone 2003 in my hands and lots of play with - but find here some impressions and pictures I already want to share with you!


The upcoming PPCW.Net i-Mate Smartphone2

PPCW.Net i-Mate Smartphone and Smartphone2 in comparison

The most important design changes: the Joystick and the Camera


Windows Mobile 2003 for Smartphone

Bluetooth pairing between Pocket PC 2003 and Smartphone 2003

Internet and Communication

My first overall impression? It's fast, feature-rich and simply amazing! I would say that the HTC Voyager is the xda II/HTC Himalaya in the Smartphone world now. As good the Motorola MPx200 might be, this phone includes what I finally was waiting for (operating system wise and it's features like rich Internet Explorer and multiple E-Mail accounts as well as hardware wise with the embedded camera and Bluetooth). I'm sure it will become a best seller (and not only from PPCW.Net ;-) but from everybody who sells Smartphones in future).

A word about selling: I don't accept pre-orders but please stay tuned instead!

Cheers ~ Arne


Related Articles EXCLUSIVE PREVIEW The PPCWNet iMate Smartphone2 aka HTC Voyager

  • No related articles found.
Posted by Pinnacle on 04.11.03 - 16:24:12

Wow, Arne!  Your teasers are driving me mad!!  What may we be looking at for your stock of these phones...1 week, 2 weeks?  More or less?!

I really want to thank you for bringing hard-to-get phones (at least here in the US) to wireless addicts worldwide.  Can't wait for this one, though.

Posted by Arne Hess on 04.11.03 - 16:44:25

Does it have a fax modem?

Mabuhay! ~ Carlo

Posted by Pinnacle on 04.11.03 - 17:28:01

Is the screen transflective?  Does it look good outside in sunlight?

Posted by Arne Hess on 04.11.03 - 18:00:20

@Pinnacle: I will tell you later when and how it will be available... Regarding the screen - it's the same as used for the PPCW.Net i-Mate Smartphone and if you have never seen that "HTC" Tanager - it's the same screen as used with the latest iPAQs like the H2200 or H5000. Transflective which means the more light the better! :-)

@Carlo: Same Radio as for the xda II so no fax inside, even not Intel but TI (which isn't bad at all)... ;-)

Posted by Pinnacle on 04.11.03 - 22:08:34

Not to be a pest, Arne, but I'm anxious to hear battery testing results as well.

Posted by Corey McLaughlin on 05.11.03 - 05:26:00

I guess we will have to wait on pins and needles until you annouce your plans for this phone.

Posted by taasadi on 05.11.03 - 12:14:42

it's nice one, but any body know the price ????

Posted by Arne Hess on 05.11.03 - 14:28:28

@taasadi: Around 638.00 EUR (incl. VAT)

Posted by APA on 06.11.03 - 22:13:03

Now all we need is a better resolution as shown with the latest Toshiba PDA's then this stuff really gets useful smile

Posted by Paul on 07.11.03 - 17:23:49

Can you use bluetooth to connect to your PC and then use your PC's broadband connection to browse the Internet?

(I realise you can do this the other way round and allow your laptop to connect to the phone and then use the phone's modem).

Posted by Arne Hess on 07.11.03 - 21:03:04

@Paul: Yes, that's possible! I've tried it with my Notebook/Anycom PC card. See my experiences here: FIRST HAND: Bluetooth experiences with the HTC Voyager aka Orange SPV E200 (

Posted by taasadi on 08.11.03 - 10:40:01

i found the price (478 $) on this site

Posted by taasadi on 08.11.03 - 10:46:18

another can you send and receive by bluetooth with out using additional software

Posted by Vincent on 13.11.03 - 19:01:40

Also looks like it is "Coming to America ..." as it has recently appeared in the FCC regulatory approvals database for approval on the 1850-1900Mhz and 2400-2480Mhz frequency ranges. See ('NM8VOYAGER' )

So, who's it gonna' be .... T-Mobile, AT&T, ???


Posted by Vincent on 13.11.03 - 19:04:23

Forum broke the link above. Copy the shortcut and paste it into your browser address bar, then add 'NM8VOYAGER' (including the quotes) to the end, and submit.


Social Sharing
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.