Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
LINK: pdaPhoneHome previews the HP iPAQ H6310 Phone Edition
Posted by Arne Hess - on Wednesday, 09.06.04 - 19:41:41 CET under 02 - Windows Mobile News - Viewed 6022x
Not Tagged

User "jpmihalk" of pdaPhoneHome.com had the chance to recently play with the previously leaked HP iPaq H6310 (well, that's a model number for a Nokia phone ;-)) and posted his impression in the forum there:

I have spent an hour with a pre-production version of the HP iPAQ h6310 PDAphone and I must say, I'm in love. Of course, I'm a geek at heart. We will have to see how long the love lasts...

First, as has been discussed elsewhere, the h6310 is built around the Texas Instruments OMAP1510 processor running at 200MHz. Performance was acceptable if not good. The h6310 has 64MB RAM and 64MB ROM with a ROM date in the tested unit of 2/13/2004. It was running Windows Mobile Phone Edition 2003 (OS Version 4.20.0 Build 13349.)

Second, connectivity is provided through quad-band GSM/GPRS using T-Mobile service, WLAN 802.11b, and Bluetooth. According to HP, the device will be upgradeable to EDGE when the network is delivered and that is part of the roadmap for their PDAphone products.

According to "jpmihalk" the planned launch date is July 27th and is expected to be shipping by mid-August. A price wasn't given.

Cheers ~ Arne

Related Links : [More Information]


 

Related Articles LINK pdaPhoneHome previews the HP iPAQ H6310 Phone Edition

  • No related articles found.
Comments
Posted by Filip Norrgård on 10.06.04 - 07:44:00

iPaq H6310 (well, that's a model number for a Nokia phone )
8O Nice observation! lol

Posted by APA on 10.06.04 - 14:16:56

Nokia is toast  big_smile

Posted by VT on 11.06.04 - 16:46:19

big_smile Looking forward to it! I can dump my mpx200 and go for the HP unit.

Posted by Michael Grubinski on 12.06.04 - 00:19:05

Hi! I don't see any big advantage compared to the HTC Himalaya. Ok it has WiFi Onboard but less Memory(64MB HP/128MB HTC) and this very ugly looking Antenna sad . Why is there no Manufacturer that is capable to build an Himalaya with integrated Wifi - that would be by "Dream Machine" smile

just my 2ct

Posted by Andreas Wangsanegara on 12.06.04 - 06:26:35

[4] I think that a built-in antenna is meant for the Wi-Fi. I've read somewhere that Wi-Fi actually need an antena to have a good range.

Posted by Andreas Wangsanegara on 12.06.04 - 06:28:43

So any info regarding the "launch date"?  :wink:

Posted by Nathan on 13.06.04 - 19:05:11

In the photo there . . . I see the thumb board, of which I am a huge advocate.  I assume the thumb board is designed to 'plug in' to the bottom of the PDA, making it quite bulky.  How feasible would it be to make the thumb board a bluetooth device for wireless connection to the PDA?  Just a thought.

Posted by ChrisSpera on 14.06.04 - 19:47:56

yes.  the thumboard plugs into the bottom; and from what I recall of the review (John had to remove it from the site after requests from HP), it came with the device...

Social Sharing
     
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.