Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
PHOTO PREVIEW: Got the new HP iPAQ H5450 for review at PPCW.Net [UPDATE]
Posted by Arne Hess - on Friday, 22.11.02 - 22:29:00 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 11972x
Not Tagged

Today I had a meeting with HP and I got a brand new HP iPAQ H5450 for reviewing on PPCW.Net.
The H5450 is a pretty interesting device as for me as it includes most of my favorite communication technologies like W-LAN 802.11b and for sure Bluetooth and together with the Compaq Wireless Pack it includes all possible network connections: PAN (Personal Area Network = Bluetooth), LAN (Local Area Network = 802.11b) and WAN (Wide Area Network = GSM/GPRS).
Because I need some days now to play with the H5450 to be able to write my review, I decided to upload the first pictures as a Picture Preview only. Enjoy!

Cheers ~ Arne

UPDATE: Added additional photos.

What's in the Box?

The Shape

Inside the Device

The H3870 compared with the H5450

Use your existing Accessories

Related Links : [More Information]


Related Articles PHOTO PREVIEW Got the new HP iPAQ H5450 for review at PPCWNet [UPDATE]

  • No related articles found.
Posted by James on 23.11.02 - 00:00:00

Excellent pictures!
Can't wait to see a review of this potencially excellent unit, thanks for your time and effort

Posted by Anonymous on 23.11.02 - 00:00:00

Yes, I agree with James - excellent pictures as always on PPCW.NET! The best and most useful photos of Pocket PCs on the net!
Thanks for uploading and looking forwad your review!!!

Posted by Marco Palma on 23.11.02 - 00:00:00 can i have one h5450 for my rewiew on ;-)
Very good photos...excellent!!!!

Posted by Linda on 24.11.02 - 00:00:00

Last Saturday, just I was about to purchase my first pda---a 3975 iPaq---the pda specialist at the local CompUSA generously tipped me that info was then available on the H5450, and I can hardly wait!  Do you know when it will be on the market??? :>)

Posted by Richard Jackson on 24.11.02 - 00:00:00

Hi Arne Acording to the HP website the h5450 won't work with the Compaq wireless pack. I see you have it connected in one of the photo's have you tried it yet ?

Posted by Manuel Fischer on 24.11.02 - 00:00:00


good pictures, but I miss a picture from the backside with _attached_ batterie. All reviews and pictures I have seen now miss this one...

AM I right that the capacity of the batterie is not printed on the label anymore? The first reviews I see has a capacity of 1350 mAh printed on (manufactured in denmark), now it is gone and we get really not a 1350 but a 1250 mAh batterie?


Posted by Arne Hess on 24.11.02 - 00:00:00

@Linda: The price wasn't given to me as well as not the final release date. However, you can expect the availability still within this year for the US market. The price seems to be something around - according all the rumors on the web - US$ 800,00.

@Richard Jackson: Yes, your are unfortunately right... :-( The Wireless Pack seems not to work. It install but I can not launch it while it works perfect with my other iPAQs. It's the latest one cause I got a replacement on Friday too because the first one I had (Operator test sample only) died.
I've addressed this to HP and hope to get an update soon! It's a fact I can't accept!

@Manuel Fischer: Good point, I've updated the pictures now with some new one. No you should be satisfied. Thanks for that point!
Beside this you are right, the new - final used - battery will be a 1250 mAh battery "only". I'm starting with the battery tests from tomorrow. However, there will be a 2500 mAh battery available but I'm not sure if it will double the size as well which would mean you can't use any Extension Packs anymore. Will try to figure it out also!

Posted by Terence on 24.11.02 - 00:00:00

I'd like to confirm what communications protocol are available as standard. I heard 802.11b + bluetooth. Is GSM & GPRS also included or do you need to add something like I do on my current iPAQ?

Posted by Andreas on 25.11.02 - 00:00:00

Hi Arne, I saw a Plus and Minus sign on where the record button is placed. Would it be possible to use the Record button on the side for Page Up/Page down Function?

Posted by Arne Hess on 25.11.02 - 00:00:00

@Terence: No, with the H5450 only W-LAN/802.11b and Bluetooth is included. No GSM, no GPRS. You need to use additional stuff like a GSM/GPRS CF/PC-Card or hopefully the Wireless Pack will be supported anytime too.

@Andreas: No, the plus/minus is for volume only. The is no option to assign page up/down to the buttons - unfortunately.

Posted by Denny on 27.11.02 - 00:00:00

Hi Arne, Are the issues with the GSM/GPRS expansion pack from the pack itself or from the h5450?  What was hp answer regarding a fix?  Can I still go ahead and buy the wireless pack and wait for a fix from hp or will they come out with a new wirless pack that is compatible with the h5450? I can hardly wait because the wireless pack is a must for me.

Posted by Arne Hess on 27.11.02 - 00:00:00

@Denny: Currently I don't know which of the both devices is the problem which prevents the Wireless Pack to work proper on the iPAQ. As I said, the software installed proper but doesn't launch... :-(
I'm still waiting for the feedback from HP which I expect to get soon! I will keep you guys updated but you are right, as much as I love the H5450 right today, I would miss the Wireless Pack as well. However, keep in mind that the unit I have is a pre-production sample.

Posted by Ralph Hoogerhuis on 28.11.02 - 00:00:00

Besides the new iPaq 5450 also a gprs/gms-version will be introduced in the first quarter of 2003 (with ppc 2002 phone edition). The only difference will be the antenna. I don't know why space for a SIM is already included.

Posted by keith on 29.11.02 - 00:00:00

Nice pictures, two questions:
1) No more rating on the battery?
2) Do you need a special adpater to use that audio input in the input/output audio jack?

Posted by George Mosquera on 29.11.02 - 00:00:00

Yes thank you indeed for those great pics on the 5450. I was trying to find some pics to see how I can adjust the arms on my new Silver Slider3 so that the arms will not hinder the volume bottons. With your pictures I was able to see that all I need to to is look at the shape of the 38-3900 ipaq's.

Thanks. (in construction.

Social Sharing
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.