Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
PHOTO PREVIEW: Smart's SMART Amazing Phone aka HTC Tanager
Posted by Arne Hess - on Friday, 28.02.03 - 16:02:00 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 20966x
Not Tagged

Thanks to ppcsurfr I got this exclusive set of photos of Smart Philippines' Smartphone 2002 - so far also known as "HTC Tanager". The official name of the worlds second commercially introduced Smartphone 2002 is "SMART Amazing Phone".
The Smart Amazing Phone is comparable to the recently announced Orange SPVx as well as the Smartphone which will be introduced later this year by T-Mobile. Therefore these pictures might be even more interesting to see.
Overall, the second Windows Powered Smartphone from HTC is nicer shaped than the first one - the "HTC Canary". While the Canary has a 4 ways D-Pad plus action button, the Tanager uses a small 5 way joystick. Overall, the Canary and the Tanager are completely the same phones except the buttons are larger on the Tanager and it use also a different (some people say better) screen.

The battery still seems to be the same as used for the Orange SPV, only the part number changed from "PC26A" to PC26B" but it's still a 1000 mAh battery "only". Also the SIM card holder is on the same place.

The Home screen of the Smart Amazing Phone includes a shortcut to Smart's WAP portal as well as some shortcuts to the Smart's most popular SIM Application Toolkit services.

Unlikely to other countries, SAT is pretty popular in the Philippines and therefore Smart decided to add this set of shortcuts - not shortcuts to a Smartphone optimized Web portal like Orange did.

The connector on bottom of the Tanager is also the same as used for the Canary as well as used of the O2 xda and others (please keep in mind that it is twisted on 180°) but never mind, this means that some of the xda accessories like USB Sync and Charge cables and all Orange SPV accessories like the camera (which is the same for both devices) will also work with the Smart Amazing Phone.

Also the headset connector is on the same place like with the Canary.

As with most other mobile phones and also at the Orange SPV, the infrared eye is located on the top of the phone.

Overall the Tanager is a even nicer designed phone. HTC did a great job with its second version of the Microsoft Smartphone.

Thanks to Smart Philippines for the permission to post this pictures and ppcsurfr for sending it to me!

Cheers ~ Arne


Related Articles PHOTO PREVIEW Smarts SMART Amazing Phone aka HTC Tanager

  • No related articles found.
Posted by Manuel L. Kanapi on 01.03.03 - 00:00:00

I have been anxiously awaiting for Smart's Smartphone 2002 since I first read about it mid- February. Does any one know when it will finally be released?

Posted by Norbert Aquende (VP, Pinoy Pocket PC) on 02.03.03 - 00:00:00

@Manuel L. Kanapi:

It was already launched in the press a few weeks ago but there will be a launching for the consumers, specifically in Pinoy Pocket PC, the Pocket PC Users Group in the Philippines. Subscribe to our online forum at … hilippines for updates on the event which would be this week.

Posted by JD on 02.03.03 - 00:00:00


"Overall the Tanager is a even nicer designed phone. HTC did a great job with its second version of the Microsoft Smartphone."

No wonder these companies still produce rubbish! It was blindingly obvious that the Canary was designed for 5 year old fingers from day one, and now you sing praise on what is basically an identical phone albeit with "crisis managment/redesign" to remove the fundimental ergonomic flaws.

Well judging by the pictures they have bodged it in the right direction but really! given that HTC can produce a HP5450, the SP family of smartphones utterly sucks.

Dont get me wrong the idea is top the OS is potentially top etc. AGAIN its the actually hardware thats the problem. Why in Gods name haven't they rebuilt it with a flip phone design? Oh yer cos they are ripping you all off! AGAIN!

Posted by Frank Löhmer on 02.03.03 - 00:00:00

Das "Tanager" ist leider vom Display schlechter geworden (zu klein), da die Display-Angaben "unten"
fast nicht lesbar sind!!

Posted by Arne Hess on 02.03.03 - 00:00:00

@Frank Löhmer: I can't confirm that the Tanager display is worse than the Canary display, I had both devices for testing in my hands when I was in Seattle 3 weeks ago. How can you think that? No, the Tanager display is even brighter and drains the battery less.

Posted by ppcsurfr (President - Pinoy Pocket PC) on 02.03.03 - 00:00:00

Hang on for more news.  I'll let you guys know when I get my review unit... then I'll et to play with it and all.

Posted by johncruise on 02.03.03 - 00:00:00

great pictures!

Posted by jgarcia on 03.03.03 - 00:00:00

i won one at the presscon launch last feb. 14 -wink but smart phils. has yet to send me the actual unit -:0
i'll keep you posted once i get it; they said the first week of march -smile


Posted by MyNameIsX on 03.03.03 - 00:00:00

Does anyone knows where I can buy this now? I need unlocked ones.


Posted by Arne Hess on 03.03.03 - 00:00:00

@MyNameIsX: You can't buy it anywhere right now. Not SIM locked nor SIM unlocked.

Posted by Jared Brown on 03.03.03 - 00:00:00

How does this phone compair to the first phone far as hardware goes?  Or is it the same phone just a different layout and an updated OS?

Posted by BJB on 04.03.03 - 00:00:00

Since this phone uses the same connector as the XDA, could we possibly use this camera attachment on the XDA itself??

Posted by ppcsurfr on 04.03.03 - 00:00:00

Jared Brown wrote:

How does this phone compair to the first phone far as hardware goes?  Or is it the same phone just a different layout and an updated OS?

Well, I have not tried the original SPV, but from the looks of it, te main difference is the keypad layout and the joystick.

I've played with the SMART Amazing Phone (Tanager) and the keys are easy to use.  They are fashioned like that of the T68i but slightly larger.  The joystick reminds of that of the T68i too but is more robust.  Playing games or sending messages via MSN Messenger isn't an ordeal with this phone.  Actually I love playing games with this phone... I have a feeling I'll be loading it up with gaes if I get one.

Posted by Volt Alcantara on 04.03.03 - 00:00:00

How would you compare the Smart Amazing Phone with Sony Ericsson's P800?  Could you please cite the strong and weak points for each phone?  Which one would be a better buy?  Thanks.

Posted by Arne Hess on 04.03.03 - 00:00:00

@Volt Alcantara: Well, I can't compare both devices since Sony Ericsson doesn't support this site and I had the P800 for a couple of minutes to play with it only.
Maybe anyone else of my visitors could tell us something about a comparison?

Social Sharing
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.