Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
PREVIEW: Got the latest gadget - the HP Jornada 928 WDA for testing [UPDATE: 06.08.02]
Posted by Arne Hess - on Thursday, 18.07.02 - 12:58:00 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 7450x
Not Tagged

Who told you, that the Jornada 928 WDA will never be released after the merger with Compaq? As I've written some days ago, the WDA will be definitely launched in some markets and thanks to the new HP, I got a WDA for reviewing on PPCW.Net.

So please give me some days to play with it and find out all functionalities as it differentiates from the O2 xda, even if both devices comes around with Microsoft's Pocket PC Phone Edition.

But with its Fonix' speech recognition (which works pretty good as I can say so far) and the second LCD display on the top of the device (the LCD display is an indication for me, that HP is also building calculators ;-); the handling of the HP Jornada is different as you get more options and features.

And also the used Texas Instruments OMAP 710 processor differentiates from other Pocket PCs.

Also you have three options to make phone calls with the WDA: via a headset, via the handheld or via the built-in speaker phone (the pictures below are not me but from HP ;-).

Stay tuned for my review!

UPDATE: I already wanted to publish my review of the HP Jornada 928 WDA here, so sorry for the delay. The problem is that the device I got was a pretty early sample which needs to be exchanged cause I have some serious problems with the GSM/GPRS radio stack. I already know this problem from the early O2 xda samples and a review with the device I have currently here would be pretty useless for you. I hope to get the exchange device this week from HP - thanks for your patience! :-(

Cheers ~ Arne


 

Related Articles PREVIEW Got the latest gadget the HP Jornada 928 WDA for testing [UPDATE 060802]

  • No related articles found.
Comments
Posted by Ivan on 18.07.02 - 00:00:00

Quote : And also the used Texas Instruments OMAP 710 processor differentiates from other Pocket PCs.

Question : Will this have an impact on which 3rd party appz can be used ?

Posted by Arne Hess on 18.07.02 - 00:00:00

@Ivan: No it shouldn't because the core is based on the StrongARM architecture. As you might know, an ARM based CPU is the requirement to get the Pocket PC 2002 label from Microsoft for Windows CE 3.0 devices.

There are many ARM CPU vendors and so you will not see any problems. This is also a feedback I got from Texas Instruments on the Mobility DevCon - two months ago in London!
Cheers ~ Arne

Posted by SiliconAddict on 19.07.02 - 00:00:00

The Texas Instruments OMAP 710 CPU runs at 133MHz ... 133MHz? Yes, really, 133MHZ! When PDAs with the XScale CPU @ 400MHz are already on the market.

Now how fast would that be in daily life, a Pocket PC PDA with a 133MHz CPU. Any idea? I have never had a MIPS PDA but started with the iPAQ so I honestly don't know.

I do know that I personally was a little reluctant at first to buy the O2 XDA because it has 'only' a StrongARM 206MHZ CPU. I first wanted to wait for the XScale SF PocketLOOX with a GSM/GPRS module but after having seen the prices of that combo I decided that 206MHz wasn't so bad after all :-P

But seriously, how fast is a Pocket PC PDA with a 133MHz CPU? What can you do with it and most important what can't you do with it? MP3? Video?

Posted by SiliconAddict on 19.07.02 - 00:00:00

I knew there was a mistake somewhere... The 928 had to have a StrongARM @ 206MHZ because that is the minimum PPC 2002 config as dictated by M$

"Like the Jornada 560 series, the 928 utilizes an Intel StrongARM SA-1110 processor - but in addition, there's also a OMAP710 ARM9-based processor that powers the wireless capabilities. HP said the company chose the OMAP710 processor due to its performance and low power requirements, and as an added bonus, the processor has built-in hardware processing support for MPEG-4, MP3, JPEG and speech technologies like speech recognition, although it is not knowwn whether HP has chosen to tap into these features."

Posted by Arne Hess on 19.07.02 - 00:00:00

Yes, that's what I mean that the WDA comes with a second CPU which differentiate it from other Pocket PCs incl. other Wireless Pocket PCs like the xda.
Sorry if this was mistakable! And if I read it again now, it was mistakable!
SiliconAddict explained it perfect in his last comment, thanks!

Posted by Anonymous on 19.07.02 - 00:00:00

Will the 928 be able to use the accessories available for the 560 series, such as the extended battery pack and keyboard. If no will HP be producing such accessories especially for the 928. The ability to expand the device wil be a big factor on whether I but it or an XDA when I finally move up from my E115.

Posted by ppcsurfr on 20.07.02 - 00:00:00

Well, that was what I thoght too at first.

Thanks for clearing it up SiliconAddict.

As for the accessories... not all can be used.

Posted by Wiz on 20.07.02 - 00:00:00

Define "Not all accessories..."

Posted by David McGhee on 22.07.02 - 00:00:00

Hey.

I was wondering (technical challenge here) whether you could buy a CF1 bluetooth card and then use a bluetooth headset? Unit looks great, I want one now!

-David

Posted by Arne Hess on 22.07.02 - 00:00:00

@David McGhee: Yes, in general this should/could works - however, today no Bluetooth CF card has the headset profile supported... :-(

Posted by Anonymous on 26.07.02 - 00:00:00

Hi,
for me the two big questions (apart from price and release date) about the 928 are:
-does it in fact have two processors like SiliconAddict mentions above, and
-can the 928 be placed against your ear and used as a normal phone.
If anyone could let me know the answers to these questions that would be great.
Thanks
Andrew

Posted by Andrew on 26.07.02 - 00:00:00

just looked at the pictures above smile It sort of looks like the answer to wether it can be used as a normal phone is "yes"
-Andrew

Posted by Chester Chen on 26.07.02 - 00:00:00

Questions:

Battery capacity?
Speaker phone quality?
Speaker loudness?
Battery bar in 25% blocks or?
Battery life?

Posted by Kristian Skjelnes on 28.07.02 - 00:00:00

Any dust!?

Posted by Wiz on 29.07.02 - 00:00:00

Guess the review will take a bit longer to get posted ...

Social Sharing
     
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.