Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
PREVIEW: Spb Software House is ready to release GPRS Monitor 1.0 [UPDATE: 16.09.02]
Posted by Arne Hess - on Monday, 16.09.02 - 20:11:00 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 7877x
Tagged under: [] [] [] [] [] []

Within the next few hours, Spb Software House will release its latest product, a new GPRS traffic counter. GPRS Monitor will be the second GPRS traffic counter beside All-locations GPRS Traffic Counter (see my review here).

I've assisted Spb in the past weeks to create a great new GPRS counter and I'm proud to provide you here the first detailed screen-shots:

Today Plug-in

On the Today screen you get a detailed statistic of your connection as well as battery power overview and allows you to adjust screen backlight level.

Notification Bubble

This is the information pop-up window of GPRS Monitor that gives you valuable information about your current data connection: data amount transferred today/this week/this month and its cost; current data block usage percentage; current connection speed; monthly/daily inclusive used (if your rate plan provides it). There's also a battery power indicator together with backlight control here that let you maintain your device's power.
A real killer feature is that you can dial your Internet standard connection from that bubble as well. If you are connected to the Internet the button changes to "Disconnect". This is a real enhancement for everyone how wants to connect to the Internet manually. I love this feature!

Main Application

Here you get a complete overview about your traffic in data volume and costs on a monthly, daily or hourly base.

GPRS Monitor gives you the most possible configuration details as possible. Spb GPRS Monitor includes details for most of rate plans of major GPRS service providers. You can update this list anytime from the Internet - just tap the Update button and the latest information will be automatically downloaded. If your network operator is not listed there you can enter all the information by hand.

GPRS Monitor also supports profiles - you can pre-define settings for all the connections and tariffs you use, your roaming settings, etc. and quickly switch between them once you use a different connection.

CSV File

You can also export your traffic into a CSV file to be used/edited on the Desktop PC later.

Final Conclusion

Spb Software House's GPRS Monitor is the most powerful GPRS traffic monitor available today. It was a great pleasure to work with these guys and they've tried to add as many tariff options as possible. But also from the whole integrations from the Today plug-in to the bubble incl. the connection button to the whole main application you will not find anything better.

GPRS Monitor is available within the next few hours and can be purchased from Spb Software House homepage. Beside this Spb Software House will also launch a page where they've added tons of GPRS tariffs. This is also interesting to see how other countries/network operators bill GPRS!

UPDATE: GPRS Monitor is available for download now! Go for it and test it!

Cheers ~ Arne

Related Links

Related Articles PREVIEW:

Posted by Anonymous on 16.09.02 - 00:00:00

Does it mean you prefer that counter over the All-locations counter!?
I mean, does I have to throw away my All-locations and buy a new one even if you recommended All-locations some weeks ago!? :-(

Posted by Brian Greene on 17.09.02 - 00:00:00

'anonymous' I also purchased the All-locations counter and have found it a valuable application to make sure I stay within my inclusive data allowance. It has paid for itself many times over at this stage - so it was beneficial for me to purchase it. I won't throw it away as it still works and does what is said it would when I bought it.

However, I'm going to take a look at this new application and if it offers more features or makes life easier then I'll purchase it. Things move on and new applications come out all the time. Who knows there won't be a better application in 3 months time?

If the app does what you want and solves something then it's your choice to purchase it. I think does a great job highlighting these applications, I've found several here that have made my PocketPC experience a better one.


Posted by Russell Baldwin on 17.09.02 - 00:00:00

So does it allow you to specify the period for inclusive minutes. For example my inclusive data period runs from the 6th of the month to the 5th of the next month. All Locations only seems to do calendar months i.e. covers (for example) the 1st to the 31st of September. Also why do they not also do WAP/Voice etc at the same time. The monitor for voice calls, built into Pocket PC's is next to useless. Voice calls cost money too if you go over your allocation. Any ideas ?


Posted by Niall Teasdale on 19.09.02 - 00:00:00

Since I didn't like the way the All Locations software worked, I was quite keen to take a look at this software. I've installed it and it looks pretty cool (though at this point I haven't actually connected up through it).

One comment, which I've sent to Sbp, is that the software doesn't include inclusive data rollover. Russ will be happy to find that it lets you start your month on any day, but Orange UK roll unused inclusive data into the next month, so I'm never going to get an accurate picture of costs, only of usage (good enough start from my point of view).

So, a question: Are Orange unique in rolling over unused inclusive data? I'm pretty sure Vodafone don't, I haven't researched the other UK providers. What about other countries?


Posted by Brian Greene on 28.09.02 - 00:00:00

Hi Niall, O2 in Ireland also "carry over" unused inclusive data to the following month.

Yeah, All Locations haven't (yet) implemented that export log file feature either sad


Posted by Learn Yee on 07.10.02 - 00:00:00

It seems that this apps slow my iPaq 3850 considerably whenever my GPRS connection is on.
Anyone experienced this situation?

Posted by Arne Hess on 07.10.02 - 00:00:00

No, I haven't noticed this on my Pocket PCs/Pocket PCs Phone Edtion. What do you mean with slow down? Only the app itself or also oter apps?

Posted by L. Robinson on 25.08.03 - 23:58:33

I downloaded the trial version and installed it on my HP IPAQ 5450, but the only features that worked were the backlight control and battery indicator, I am using Sprint PCS Vision Enabled PCS Connection Card.

Has anyone else experienced this problem.



Posted by Arne Hess on 26.08.03 - 12:20:32

@L. Robinson : Hmmm... That's a good question if it works with other standards then GPRS but it should because it doesn't matter since the GPRS Manager takes it from the COM port. Are you sure you have selected and activated the proper port?

Social Sharing
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.