Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
PREVIEW: The Option GlobeTrotter arrived today for testing
Posted by Arne Hess - on Friday, 17.05.02 - 15:56:00 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 5994x
Not Tagged

As I wrote 10 days ago, Option is now ready to ship its GPRS PCMCIA card and thanks to Option, I got my reviewers sample today. So I will play a little bit with the card during the weekend. I hope the weather becomes good that I can take my Notebook to use it in one of our famous Beer Gardens here in Munich to update PPCW.Net with a good glass of Bavarian beer and the Option card. ;-)

However, my first impression is that it works pretty good with the Compaq iPAQ H3870 (5 minutes after I plugged it into the Pocket PC I got the first call so I had the chance to had a serious 35 minutes call and it worked just like my mobile phone) and also with my Sony Vaio Notebook.

Now it becomes time to setup some GPRS and CSD data connections on both machines to test it against the Compaq Wireless Pack. Remember that Option delivers the GPRS hardware on the Wireless Pack, so I expect at least the same connection speed I already get with the Wireless Pack. See more during the next week.

Cheers ~ Arne


 

Related Articles PREVIEW The Option GlobeTrotter arrived today for testing

  • No related articles found.
Comments
Posted by PP MAryl on 17.05.02 - 00:00:00

Hi Arne,

I've contacted a dealer and the manufacturer about the app. we can use on a PPC and this card. I didn't get any answer from the manufacturer (it's not really cool!) and the dealer gave me an url for an app. but did not if this one works fine witht this card (good feedback!).
What is the app. you use with it and can you get all the features like with a mobile (sms, voice mail etc.)
I would be grateful to hear from you smile

Posted by Arne Hess on 18.05.02 - 00:00:00

Hey man! :-)

As always, my preferred application for stuff like this (where I don't need SMS only but also the keypad for dialing telephone numbers) is Pocket Presence's Running Voice GSM (don't forget my review here).
So just as a preview for my review, get this two screenshots:



Running Voice GSM works pretty

fine with Option's GlobeTrotter
This is real fast wireless Internet

It's 40.1 kbps wireless through GPRS

This tiny card is really fast - incredible, so wireless Internet becomes real fun now!
Cheers ~ Arne

Posted by Anonymous on 21.05.02 - 00:00:00

I have no trouble using the Globetrotter with Running Voice GSM in my Ipaq 3870 but I cannot set up a GPRS connection with Voicestream. All of the settings are correct but the connection is never completed. The software and documentation that comes with this card is minimalist to say the least!

Charlie

Posted by Spacer on 22.05.02 - 00:00:00

Regarding voice comunication did you use headset or directly via pda's speaker +microphone?
thanx Spacer
http://spacer.cc/gprs/

Posted by Arne Hess on 22.05.02 - 00:00:00

@Spacer: No, you have to use the headset. Handsfree isn't supported at all, like it isn't supported with the Compaq Wireless Pack too!

Posted by klokman on 22.05.02 - 00:00:00

How did you get the Running Voice working with the Globetrotter? I've been trying for two weeks now with my 3850 without success. Can you share your secret?
Thnx
Klokman

Posted by Arne Hess on 22.05.02 - 00:00:00

@Charly & Klokman: Please use the PPCW.Net Forum to share your information! I will also try my best to support you on this.
BTW: The PPCW.Net Forum is also supported by the Pocket Presence people so this is the best place for you to find a solution!
Cheers ~ Arne

Posted by Tony on 28.05.02 - 00:00:00

I cannot get cingular wireless to give me the GPRS settings so I can get my IPAQ 3870 onfigured to connect to the GPRS network. Is anyone having this problem?  What provider can I use that will give me the necessary information (settings) so I can connect to the GPRS network.

Posted by Arne Hess on 29.05.02 - 00:00:00

@Tony: VoiceStream... What's up with the operators (not only in the States), they keep the GPRS settings like the crown jewelries. Why they launched it? For depletion only? :-( I don't understand these guys - launching a service but keep it confidential... Nuts...

Cheers ~Arne

PS: For further questions please use the Forum!

Posted by Anonymous on 23.06.02 - 00:00:00

Help!!!!! I've been trying for a week now to make the PC card work with my 3670 with Running voice 2.0, Program is running fine but the PC card can't be detected even with the flexport set correctly, help!!!!!!!!

Social Sharing
     
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.