Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
PREVIEW: V2R Outlook2SMS
Posted by Arne Hess - on Friday, 13.09.02 - 11:58:00 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 6521x
Not Tagged

Have you ever thought about sharing your Pocket Contacts, Calendar entries or Tasks with others as you used to do this with Outlook but now with your Pocket PC? Well, if the other is in front of you it's not a big deal as you can beam the PIM entry through IrDA or even Bluetooth. But what's if the recipient isn't available face to face? You don’t have to wait to long anymore to enable this feature on your Pocket PC Phone Edition.
V2R’s Outlook2SMS works pretty easy through the SMS bearer channel as it takes the most important parts of your Calendar entries, Contacts and Tasks to be send from one Phone Edition to another one (both Pocket PCs have to run Outlook2SMS for sure) with only one SMS message.
From here the client, which works in the background, takes this special formatted SMS and put it into the right application database of Pocket Outlook.

FEATURES

  • Send Appointments, Contacts and Task from one Pocket PC Phone Edition to another through SMS
  • Enables sharing of the most important PIM entries with colleagues, friends and family
  • Confirmation functionality of accepting/declining the received item

Screenshots


Final Conclusion

V2R’s Outlook2SMS is a pretty interesting concept/tool. It enables real time communication/sharing between Pocket PC Phone Editions as you can share your PIM entries now with others, even if they are not in infrared range.

The version I got for previewing was still a Beta but looked very promising. It works pretty easy to send an entry to a friend: Select, tap and hold, select the recipient (by entering the MSISDN directly or selecting it from the Contacts database) and send it. However, I hope V2R will adjust the design a little bit - but that’s my personal flavor. I don’t like these colorful applications at all; I’m more a fan of clear and easy designs like the XP design.
Anyway - beside the GUI this is a pretty interesting application which becomes even more interesting as more Phone Edition Pocket PCs becomes available.

V2R raffles 5 copies of Outlook2SMS to the registered Forum Members of PPCW.Net as soon as it is released.

A price wasn’t given today but a trial version is planed too. Outlook2SMS will be available through PocketGear.com and the availability will be announced here for sure!
V2R's web site is currently rebuilt.

Any thoughts about that cool concept?

Cheers ~ Arne

Related Links : [Download Here]


 

Related Articles PREVIEW V2R Outlook2SMS

  • No related articles found.
Comments
Posted by ppcsurfr on 13.09.02 - 00:00:00

I can do the same for contacts using DeveloperOne'e AccessPanel Platinum and Simple SMS.

I can send VCARDs via SMS to any phone using the above setup.

ppcsurfr

Posted by Arne Hess on 13.09.02 - 00:00:00

Yes, there might be workarounds to send some stuff, however this application is just a tap and send; easy to use AND it puts the received entries automatically into the right application like Contacts, Calendar or Tasks. This isn't available today; even not with workarounds...

Posted by ppcsurfr on 13.09.02 - 00:00:00

I agree.  I've always wanted something like this... I might actually look into it.  I hope it works with mobile phones that support VCARDs.

Posted by Arne Hess on 13.09.02 - 00:00:00

No, currently the format is not compatible to vCard. So this is a stand-alone application only right now, but who know how a future development could looks like!? ;-)

Posted by Maricio Freitas on 15.09.02 - 00:00:00

Well, if it's not VCARd, what if I'm using another SMS app in the same PPC, to read actual text SMS?

Imagine this: phone beeps, "You have one new msg".

How do I decide which app to use to read it first? Do I have to open the SMS on the phone and then decide it's a true SMS or a data SMS?

The Palm SMS application is great on this. If you send a contact via SMS (direct from the Address book), it'll be a VCARD.

The Palm receiving it uses the SMS app to receive from the phone and identifies it as a VCARD or normal. If it's a VCARD (or VCAL) it asks if you want to add, otherwise just put the message in the database to be read. Straight, no fuss.

Posted by Arne Hess on 15.09.02 - 00:00:00

@Maricio: Good input but first of all Outlook2SMS is for Phone Edition only (today) and there is only one SMS application available - the original Microsoft Inbox. Also you don't have to decide which application to use because - as I described - the handler is working in the background by default and takes every proper formatted SMS and launches the interface automatically. So you don't have to do anything! :-)
From which Palm application are you talking? I'm not aware with Palm applications but would like to have a look on it (at least at the web ;-). Any URL available?

Posted by Mauricio Freitas on 16.09.02 - 00:00:00

Hi! Thanks for the comments, it's now clear to me the behaviour is similar to the Palm SMS.

I'm talking about Palm SMS, the app bundled with m130 and m515, in the original Palm disk. It's also in the Palm Bluetooth Card disk. It adds the library to handle SMS, and plugs some additional menu items to the Address Book, Date Book apps (Send via BT, Send via SMS). Both cases will send a VCARD. BT will send it using the corresponding BT profile and SMS will send it via SMS, and the link can either be BT, IR or cable.

http://www.palm.com/software/mobile_connectivity.html but not more info there :-(

Posted by Harry on 19.09.02 - 00:00:00

Outlook2SMS is no available for download on V2R's web site at www.v2r.ag

Posted by Calin Brandabur on 19.09.02 - 00:00:00

@Harry: Starting from today 19/09/2002 Outlook2SMS is available for download at www.v2r.ag/'s download area.

Social Sharing
     
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.