Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
REVIEW: DAT Groups SMS Tools for Smartphone 2002
Posted by Arne Hess - on Sunday, 23.02.03 - 19:02:00 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 9960x
Not Tagged

If you are also a heavy user of SMS and you are a owner of Microsoft's Windows based Smartphone 2002 you might also miss the feature to delete all messages from the Inbox with just one click. Well, to be honest - for me it seems a little bit like Microsoft simply forgot to add this feature since "delete all" is included in the recycle bin folder.

Thanks to the 3GSM Congress I met James Pratt from DAT Group who showed me their latest development: SMS Tools.

SMS Tools is a simple but great application which lets you select which messages from which folder should be deleted.

Just open SMS Tools and you will get an overview of how many messages are stored in your Inbox (incl. an overview of how many unread) and how many messages are stored in Sent Items.

Now you can select which messages of which folder you want to delete. Here you can select Inbox, Sent Items or both.

By clicking to Action, SMS Tools lets you select if you want to Delete Read SMS only or if you want to Delete All SMS messages.

After confirming this action your folder is empty. No more hassle to do it message by message.

Final Conclusion

SMS Tools is such a great and simple application which really helps to get more out of your Smartphone! Specially because the storage capacity on a Smartphone is more limited then on a Pocket PC it makes pretty much sense to delete old SMS messages from time to time. On my 10 hours flight to Redmond two weeks ago, I did it message by message (and I had around 130 -160 SMS messages in my Inbox) which took some time. While it was okay anyway to do it during the flight - I had nothing else to do - it is more then annoying to do this during a regular business day!

SMS Tools is available for free from DAT Groups Smartphone Club site and is highly recommended for every messaging geek out there who use its Smartphone 2002 for SMS too.

To register SMS Tools you have to register on Smartphone Club which is worth at all since they offer some more software in addition to SMS Tools anyhow as well as some cool services like a Home screen configurator!

Cheers ~ Arne

Related Links : [Download Here] [More Information]


 

Related Articles REVIEW DAT Groups SMS Tools for Smartphone 2002

  • No related articles found.
Comments
Posted by Gio Bacareza on 13.06.03 - 19:54:28

I heard that SMS tools has a feature that allows you to resend SMS that failed to send. I don't see this in the SMS Tools that I downloaded. Is this available in a different version?

Posted by Arne Hess on 13.06.03 - 20:12:14

Yes, you are right. There is a different version available with the feature you've described - however that version isn't available for public download today but for OEMs only.

I have no update if/when it will be released public...

Posted by Diederik on 17.09.03 - 20:20:26

How to delete e-mail of your inbox?

Posted by Angel Gomez on 18.09.03 - 11:44:39

I too find this to be a very useful utility. However, there should have been a provision for the deletion of deleted messages as well.

Posted by Juvy on 24.01.04 - 05:56:05

Hi. I''ve registered at smartphoneclub.com and i can't seem to find the sms tools program. where do i download it? i tried going to the downloads page but  i can only download clearvue programs. help!

Posted by Damon on 04.02.04 - 19:35:37

http://www.coolsmartphone.c...

Social Sharing
     
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.