Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
REVIEW: Sunnysoft World off-line for Smartphone 2002
Posted by Arne Hess - on Thursday, 24.07.03 - 13:07:39 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 7593x
Not Tagged

Many users who come from PDA devices like Pocket PCs or Palms are addicted to offline services like AvantGo or Mazingo and really miss the functionality to read web sites offline on a Microsoft Smartphone 2002 as well; since these applications aren't available today for the Smartphone platform. Well, you might wonder now why to read sites offline if you have an always connected Smartphone? There are several good reasons: saving money by using less airtime, no coverage (like in airplanes or trains), International Roaming, etc…
Czech Sunnysoft now released World off-line for Smartphone 2002 which already exists for Pocket PCs and it's a powerful tool to download web sites to your Smartphone to be viewed later offline.

World off-line comes as a stand alone application for the Smartphone and doesn't requires any counterpart on the Desktop PC for synchronization. However, it can use Microsoft's ActiveSync PassThrough as well as GPRS for synchronization. This makes you independent enough to sync whenever you want but synchronization doesn't starts automatically like you might know it from AvatGo but you have to start it on your Smartphone by yourself of by a predefined time schedule you can define.

World off-line gives you the complete flexibility to sync more or less every website you want since you have to enter the URL and some more details into the client 8however, you can also import predefined channels from Sunnysoft's World off-line site). Also supported is HTTPS, authentication as well as a complete set of settings like link depth on the server/external links, image settings, etc.

An important functionality is how World off-line stores the received date since storage space is still limited on Smartphones. First of all the good news – World off-line is designed to be installed on a storage card as well, so you don't have to "waste" phone memory and also the data can be saved on a storage card. In fact you can define where you want to store the received data which are in addition compressed to save even more memory. That's one of the most important facts for me because I'm always on the space limit with my Smartphone's
Because World off-line "simply" downloads the HTML code form the URLs you've defined and the build-in Internet Explorer is used for the output, you also don't see any real differences between online and offline access. World off-line doesn't reformats the HTML like AvantGo does (for example the "valign="left" tag isn't supported by AvantGo today; the reason why PPCW.Net looks different in AvantGo then in real life) but shows you what you would also get if you would access the site via GPRS.

Above you see, that PPCW.Net wasn't accessed online but offline. I had to check the properties myself to believe that it wasn't the online version. ;-)

Final Conclusion

Sunnysoft's World off-line is the perfect for all news freaks that want to take away the latest news and views and don't want to pay every time airtime for the Internet access. I haven't found any real downsides while I've used and tested it during the past days. Maybe the import of favorites I would like to see improved. As I said before, you can import site settings, e. g. from Sunnysoft's website. However, I have already a lot of mobile favorites on my Smartphone which I have to enter again now. A kind of a "import Pocket Internet Explorer" option would be perfect to shorten the configuration but beside this I'm fully satisfied with the functionalities.
It allows me to manually synchronize as well as automatically, it stored the data where I want to have it stored and it shows me the sites in that format how they was designed so what else can I expect!?
Maybe the best of all is that you can get all this for only US$ 8.00 from This isn't to expensive if you compare it with the GPRS costs it saves you. However, a 14 days trial version is also available.
Sunnysoft Word off-line can be highly recommended for everybody who uses the Smartphone for Web access also!

Cheers ~ Arne

Related Links : [More Information] [Download Here]


Related Articles REVIEW Sunnysoft World offline for Smartphone 2002

  • No related articles found.
Posted by DubWireless on 24.07.03 - 17:09:47

excellent smile - this is an app I've been wanting since getting the i-Mate - GPRS charges here in Ireland are still expensive - so an off-line browsing tool is a pefect solution.

I was anxiously reading the review for the details that it stored the data and application happily on the storage card - great to see it does.

This will be handy for the sites I know aren't updated every few minutes or have a lot content available like The Onion, Wired, The Feature etc.

It looks like they have a configuration text file that will set up a channel, a .wol file they call it on the support pages - haven't tried making one - might be possible to set up the default settigns and make the text file donwloadable (maybe beside the AvantGo and Mazingo links)?

Thanks for the info Arne,


Posted by DubWireless on 24.07.03 - 17:39:26

ok that config file worked - actually by default they have a couple stored already when the application is installed on the SmartPhone in:

/IPSM/My Documents/Wol

You create a .wol file based on the spec in their help pages (or using one of the default ones as an example)


once edited you copy it to the Wol directory on your Smartphone:

/IPSM/My Documents/Wol

then in the World OnLine application by choosing

Menu > Tools > Import Settings

by default you are brought to the Wol directory which is highlighted

pressing Done brings up a list of the sites whose settings are available for import

Arne - might be worth asking them to include a Mobile .wol file by default also, so people can select it and have it configured automatically on their SmartPhone?



Posted by Arne Hess on 24.07.03 - 19:27:34

Brian, you read my thoughts about providing a download link... ;-)

Here we go: http://.../

I've already added it to the World off-line database here: http://.../

Enjoy but make sure you store the channels on your SD card!

Posted by Rodel on 27.07.03 - 12:23:36

I've finally bought World off-line from and they say you'll get a registration code to apps that requires it for 24hrs. and World off-line requires it so I waited and waited... but they haven't emailed me my code! Is there someone who could help?

Posted by DubWireless on 29.07.03 - 17:57:53

Hi Rodel, the email order receipt/confirmation I received after ordering, there was a note from Sunnysoft that read:

"thank you for buying the product. Activation information will be sent to you within 2 business days after we recieve confirmation from"

so it looks like they promise it within two working days (incase you purchased it over a weekend you'd need to take that into account), the trail mode lasts for 14 days so it should be plenty of time to get the registration info

hope you got it sorted out


Posted by DubWireless on 02.08.03 - 05:21:41

here's something to pay attention to (and learn from my mistake!)

make sure if you want to sync the sites through your PC's internet connection that you set the Data Connection Settings to Pass Through Internet when performing a sync

i had been using my i-Mate earlier in the evening and has it set to my Operator's GPRS service - i didnt' think (it's late and it's been a hard week sad) and i sat the phone in the cradle and on the phone started to sync World Off Line - i didn't notice until until half way through that I was using my operator and not my ISP!!!

ouch - there goes my GPRS allocation for this month in one go sad

Posted by NR on 10.03.04 - 19:12:27


I just downloaded the trial version of Sunnysoft's "World Off-line" (v. 1.8 for Smartphone, I believe) and I have no idea how to set the program to use my computer's internet connection rather than my mobile airwaves. I've literally been through all the menu items, to no avail. I don't see "Data Connection Settings to Pass Through Internet" as you suggested anywhere. As a precaution I have my phone on airplane mode, and sure enough it refuses to sync and asks me to turn off airplane mode first -- which leads me to believe that no matter what I try, it always wants to use my phone's airtime and not my computer's internet connection!! Please help!! I am using an MPx200 with AT&T wireless.



Posted by wtbwts on 16.07.04 - 15:33:55

Can someone help.
After trying WOL, I decided to unistalled the WOL thru remove/uninstall ,
but it keeps poping up "cannot execute /Storage card/program  files/Sunnysoft/WOL/WOL.exe
I even delete it  fromn registry using PHM Editor.
email to sunnysoft - no response. Do I need to do a reset?

Social Sharing
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.