Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
REVIEW: What's improved with i-mate's latest ROM update for Smartphpne2
Posted by Arne Hess - on Sunday, 20.06.04 - 17:04:35 CET under 08 - Reviews - Viewed 8029x
Not Tagged

I was testing the latest i-mate Smartphone2 ROM during the past days and the recently released ROM version 1.10.15.2 seriously improves the overall functionality of the i-mate Smartphone2.
Most heard critics in the past were about the stand-by time which wasn't satisfying at all. This seems to be fixed now - at least it is serious improved with the latest ROM build.

Here what I've noticed in my tests as well what is confirmed to be fixed now:

  • The power draining of the device caused by running the application of SD card has been improved
  • Added the capability of deep sleep to save battery power and ensured the screen could be turned off if users enable CPU deep sleep mode and BT headset
  • The power consumption improved to be normal when turning on BT.
  • If a SD card inserted it will no longer consume extra power any more
  • Overall improved the battery standby time
  • MediaPlayer plays properly after removing the SD card
  • Improved audio quality
  • Bluetooth serial profile now works appropriately by adding BT SPP support
  • Bluetooth headset timeout of Sony Ericsson HBH-60 headset improved/fixed

The latest ROM really satisfies me and therefore it's highly recommended to download it from clubimate.com (for i-mate device owners only).

Cheers ~ Arne

Related Links : [More Information] [Download Here]


 

Related Articles REVIEW Whats improved with imates latest ROM update for Smartphpne2

  • No related articles found.
Comments
Posted by Mauricio Freitas on 20.06.04 - 22:52:33

"Bluetooth headset timeout... improved".

Arne, do you know if this fixes the problems with some Jabra BT200? I can pair my Jabra and use it, but as soon as I place it in the cradle the pairing seems to be broken. It works ok with my GN Netcom headset though. But I rather use the Jabra.

Perhaps I should test this when back from my trip...

Posted by Matt M on 21.06.04 - 04:54:15

[1]  Mauricio, it should do, but I haven't had a chance to test with my BT200 that has the same problem as yours; my wife uses the SP2, and her Jabra is a newer firmware revision :-)

Posted by Marc L. on 22.06.04 - 00:24:02

Arne:  Are you aware of any bluetootch keyboards that have been ported to the Smartpone 2?  I am frankly somewhat surprised at the stunted growth of keyboard accessories for the smartphone.

Posted by Arne Hess on 22.06.04 - 13:05:25

[1] Mauricio, unfortunately I can not test this because I never had this problem with my Jabra headset because of the latest ROM. Maybe Matt can add his experiences (or latest you, when you are back from the U.S.).

[3] So far _no_ ported Bluetooth keyboards and still waiting for an answer from Think Outside regarding their BT keyboard. As soon as I know more I will let you know.

Posted by Mitchell Waite on 23.06.04 - 04:58:57

I lost my Smartphone partnership when I installed the ROM, it put the phone in the Guest mode and I can't figure out how to set up a new partnership, anyone know how?

Posted by Rodney on 24.06.04 - 01:21:45

I lost all Bluetooth after installing the update.  When I go to turn on the bluetooth, I have a message telling me there is no bluetooth HARDWARE on this device.

:cry:

Posted by Jacob on 29.06.04 - 18:49:20

Anyone knows if this ROM can be used on a standard Qtek 2020 (no branding) ? If not, where I could get the most up to date Qtek 2020 firmware ?

Posted by Jacob on 29.06.04 - 20:56:15

Oh, hehe, sorry. Wrong thread to post this in wink

Social Sharing
     
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.