Subscribe to the::unwired's RSS Feedthe::unwired at Twitterthe::unwired on Facebookthe::unwired on Google Plus
the::unwired Article
UPDATE: Sneak Preview of Windows Media 8.5 player
Posted by Arne Hess - on Friday, 18.10.02 - 15:20:00 CET under 02 - Windows Mobile News - Viewed 9013x
Not Tagged

My fellow MVP pt from Pocket PC Magic published a sneak preview of the next coming Windows Media Player 8.5 which will be part of Microsoft's EUU3 (End User Update) which was announced last week:

Improvements: Windows Media Player 8.5 for Pocket PC takes your mobile digital media experience to the next level. With improved performance across the board, easier to use features, and built-in support for the Pocket PC Connection Manager, going mobile has never been more fun.

Find more screen shots and explanations at Pocket PC Magic!

Cheers ~ Arne

Related Links : [More Information]


 

Related Articles UPDATE Sneak Preview of Windows Media 85 player

  • No related articles found.
Comments
Posted by Knut Vonheim on 21.10.02 - 00:00:00

There was a press release on 10-11-02.

http://www.microsoft.com/mobile/newseve … _11_02.asp

However, I have yet to find anywhere I can download this from?  I have tried microsoft, pocketpc, and HP's web sites (carry a Jornada 568).

Cheers,

Knut Vonheim

Posted by Arne Hess on 21.10.02 - 00:00:00

As you can see in the press release: " As part of this effort, we develop updates and fixes to recognized issues and release them for our customers. Because of the differences in hardware designs in Pocket PCs, we release our updates only to our partners who then, in turn, release a device specific update to their users."
This means that HP, Casio, o2, Toshiba and all the other OEMs got the code from Microsoft and will offer this as an update for their devices. This could require some weeks and you will find the update sooner or later on HP's support website. You will not find the code on Microsoft's website or anywhere else on the web for download!

Posted by Knut Vonheim on 21.10.02 - 00:00:00

Arne, good thinking and sharper than me reading!

I did get a response from HP which claims this update is in their Firmware Update and EUU2 Update releases.  However, I am 99% certain I have installed those and my MediaPlayer (only thing I could think of checking) says v8.0 and not 8.5.  Further, the HP releases are dated July 10th, 2002.  Do you have any insights on my little confusion?

Thanks again,

Knut Vonheim

Posted by Knut Vonheim on 21.10.02 - 00:00:00

My gut tells me it is HP's support department that is a little out of touch with this topic.  But if you have insights on when HP will release EUU3that would be appreciated too.

I certainly hope HP supports the Jornadas as long as Microsoft supports PPC 2002.

Cheers,
Knut Vonheim

Posted by Arne Hess on 21.10.02 - 00:00:00

@Knut: You are right, it's the EUU3 and you can be sure that this will be available for the Jornada series also.

Posted by Knut Vonheim on 22.10.02 - 00:00:00

I actually got an e-mail from a person named Alex in HP support.  I didn't know of this little "gimmick" to check for EUU2 release.  Try it out:
------------------
Regarding information on how to check if the Firmware update is
installed on your Jornada 568 unit, please review the document given
below.

Firmware update is installed on your Jornada unit, if the you are able
to see the built on date of the screen of your Jornada 568 unit.

Please follow the information below to find the built on date of your HP Jornada 568.

-  Tap on Start, Settings.
-  Tap to open system sheet tab.
-  Tap on HP Settings.
-  Tap to select Display from the dropdown menu.
-  Tap on Brightness icon.  The icon is like a sun.
-  Now tap on Backlight icon.  The icon is like a bulb.
-  The serial number and the born on date will be displayed.

Note:  These verifying steps are for Firmware update EUU2 only.

----------------------

Mine was born on December 16, 2001 and I got it for Christmas.  Just-in-time inventory seems to work at HP!-)

Cheers,

Knut

Social Sharing
     
This Week's Top Stories
Feeds & More
Awards & More
Recent Discussions
© Copyright 1998 - 2013 by the::unwired® & Arne Hess
All rights reserved!
the::unwired is a registered trademark of Arne Hess.
All trademarks are owned by their respective companies.
All site video, graphic and text content is copyrighted to the respective party and may not be reproduced without express written consent.